Thursday, October 29, 2009

I am a Genius of Unspeakable Evil...

...and I Want to be Your Class President, is a new book by one of the writers/producers of The Daily Show. Fans of Evil Genius and Artemis Fowl will enjoy this one, as it's much along the same lines. And I encourage you to check out the website for the book, which is among the best and silliest I've ever seen: http://sheldrakeindustries.com

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Teen Read Week is Here!

It's that time of year people! Celebrate Teen Read Week at the library! We'll be highlighting the Teen Top Ten in the Young Adult Room (favorite books of 2008 chosen by teens, for teens), and of course, Thursday is the Zombie Tea Party! Join us in the Community Room from 5-7. The Teen Library Council will be our makeup artists, and we will have a distressed-clothing workshop so you can begin your transformation into the undead. Learn the Thriller dance! The best zombie wins a prize!
BookTRON members: Don't forget the Zombie Party is also your October meeting. Be there to pick up your book for next month and talk about The Alchemyst.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Fall Frenzy

Our first Game Fest of the school year is coming up this week (Thursday, October 15, 5-7 in the Community Room), and you all should be really excited. Why? Well, not only will we have the usual Game Fest fun, with Guitar Hero, Wii, Bingo and what-not, we will also have one of the best crafts we've ever come up with. I am ringing my own bell a bit here, but this craft rules. So I shall tempt you to the Game Fest by saying you must be there to find out what the craft is, etc., etc.

Saturday, October 10, 2009


While at the Tigard High School back to school night, I learned about a wonderful resource for Tigard/Tualatin students and staff. Affordable health care! The School-Based Health Center at Tigard High School supplies medical and mental health services to students and TTSD staff, regardless of their ability to pay. Please find out more here: http://schoolbasedhealthcenterattigardhigh.blogspot.com/
And don't forget about our fabulous Teen Health and Wellness Database, which you can access with your library card and search for answers to your health-related questions. You can also check the site for personal stories from other teens.

Thursday, October 8, 2009

Stump Your Librarian


It's that time again, boys and girls. Time to Stump Your Librarian. Stop by the young adult desk before the end of November and ask a tough question. If we can't answer within 10 minutes, you get to pick out a book for keeps!
Small print: Maximum one attempt a day. Try not to be too embarrassed when your librarians school you.

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Conflict and Confusion

For Sam (Samar), besides her name and her complexion she has no ties to her past. Her mother left her family, her religion and her upbringing behind when she had Sam. Now, just days after the 9/11 attacks, a man wearing a turban appears at her doorstep. He's her uncle.

Sam finds that she needs to know more about her Punjabi heritage, her family and her beliefs. Faced with racism and fear, Sam, her friends and her family try to figure out life in Shine, Coconut Moon by Neesha Meminger.

Archive

Labels

Hit Counter