Thursday, February 21, 2008

What's Happening?

Thursday, February 28, 5-7 pm Teen Anime Club Anime fans are invited to stop by the library's Puett Room to watch anime, review manga, share fan artwork, and hang out with other anime fans. We'll also be working on the library's teen zine Scratched. So bring submissions (book reviews, short stories, drawings, etc.) to add.

Friday, February 29 (9 am -5 pm) and Saturday, March 1 (9 am -3 pm) Friends of the Tigard Library Booksale Stop by the library's Cmunity Room to see what you can find!

Thursday, March 6, 6-8pm Music Fest Be a karaoke superstar, name that song and make a cool MP3 cover from fabric or duct tape. Free refreshments and plenty of fun in the Community Room. This Teen Tech Week event is presented by the Tigard Public Library and the Teen Library Council. Check out the trivia contest beginning February 28 for a chance to win an MP3!

Saturday, March 8, 9 am -1pm Tree for All Planting Stop by Englewood Park for some fun outdoors planting native trees and shrubs. For more information, check out the event on the City of Tigard's Events Calendar http://www.tigard-or.gov/.

Monday, February 18, 2008

Non-Fiction to Check Out

Looking for something good to read? Check out the NEW Non-Fiction section in the Teen Room. Cookbooks, crafts, biographies, skateboarding, and more.

Fans of Emily the Strange and The Bunny Suicides should check out The Bad Book by Aranzi Aronzo (745.5 ARA). It's the perfect opposite to The Cute Book (745.5 ARA).

Have to eat gluten-free? Or just want to try out some cool recipes? Beyond Rice Cakes by Vanessa L. Maltin (641.5638) has excellent ideas for trying something new.

How many times have you watched a horror movie and thought, "Don't do that! That always leads to [fill in the blank]!" How to Survive a Horror Movie by Seth Grahame-Smith (791.4361 GRA) has collected all those horror gems of wisdom in a funny and outrageous book.

This book promises to be For Boys Only: The Biggest Baddest Book Ever (031.02 ARO) with tidbits for boys (and girls, this reviewer thinks) on just about everything. Buried treasure, disgusting creatures, and tips on fighting a shark are all covered in this new hit from Marc Aronson and HP Newquist.

And if the previous titles are not adventurous enough for you, then you should discover 101 Things to Do Before You're Old and Boring by Richard Horne and Helen Szirtes (793 HOR). Live it up with these fun suggestions.

Monday, February 4, 2008

Give Your 2 Cents

So maybe you can't vote yet, but that doesn't mean you can't give your opinion.

To give your political 2cents check out My 2 Cents for Change and say what you think about the upcoming presidential election.

Give your library opinion by taking the Library Survey. The library uses your input to make changes, so tell us what you think. The on-line survey will be available throughout the month of February.

Archive

Labels

Hit Counter